Logo (c) 2007 - 2011 WSATI Southern Chapter

January 20, 2011 - Lucille's Smoke House BBQ Restaurant - Cerritos

The always popular venue, Lucille's Smoke House BBQ

2011 WSATI Southern Chapter Secretary Rob Manning (LASD TRAP) welcomed everyone to the meeting. 

WSATI Southern Chapter Vice President Tim Glover (LASD TRAP) then led the group in the pledge of allegiance. 

Rob then introduced 2011 WSATI Southern Chapter President Dave Petrelli (Workmen's Auto Insurance) who requested that 2010 WSATI Southern Chapter President John Bartolone (DMV Investigations - Artesia) join him at the podium.  Dave then presented John with his "thank you" gift for being the 2010 WSATI Southern Chapter President.

Rob then called 1991 WSATI Southern Chapter President Skip Davidson (Davidson Investigations) to the front.  Skip advised that he was an Official Kentucky Colonel and that he wished to present Dave Petrelli with a certificate recognizing Dave as a Kentucky Colonel.  Skip advised that you can only become a Kentucky Colonel by being nominated by a Kentucky Colonel and submitting the nomination to the Governor of Kentucky.  It is then up to the Governor to decide whether to declare the candidate as a Kentucky Colonel.  Skip said it took quite a bit of money and persuasion, but the Governor signed the paperwork to make Dave a Kentucky Colonel.

Rob then introduced the remainder of the 2011 WSATI Southern Chapter Officers, Vice President Tim Glover (LASD TRAP), Treasurer Tim Jackson (AAA Southern California), Sergeant-at-Arms Aristeed Powell (DMV Investigations - Artesia), and Associate Director Brian Yori (LAPD TRAP).  Rob then attempted to introduce the WSATI Southern Chapter Past Presidents in attendance.  He was unable to recognize all and several had to be pointed out.  As Rob said "there are so many here."

Rob then asked everyone to do self-introductions and to speak about current cases if they wished to.  Several of the attendees shared information about current cases.  Ted Saraf (LoJack) wanted to make sure that everyone was aware of some special pricing available on "LoJack for Classics," which now has an expiration date of 03/31/11 rather than 12/31/10.  

Rob then introduced the guest speaker, Cesar Ramirez (LAPD TRAP), who gave a presentation regarding Illegal Vehicle Sub-Leasing Investigations.  This presentation was an eye-opener for many of the attendees who had no idea how big a problem this has become, not only for law enforcement, but for insurance and finance companies as well.

Prior to lunch, WSATI Southern Chapter Treasurer Tim Jackson (AAA Southern California) conducted the raffle.  There were a lot of great raffle prizes.  Rob Manning (LASD/TRAP) and Tim Glover (LASD/TRAP) assisted Tim with the raffle.  Again, it appeared that those who bought extra raffle tickets did the best, right Heather.  Some of the raffle prizes included WSATI Southern Chapter shirts.   To see some of the available shirts, please go to WSATIWear.  Please contact Rob at his listed email address for current pricing on the shirts. 

At the conclusion of the raffle, the BBQ luncheon was served for those who stayed for lunch. 

Logo (c) 2007 - 2010 WSATI Southern Chapter

Following the lunch, the meeting was adjourned by Dave Petrelli.  The next meeting will be on Thursday, March 17, 2011, at the Covina Woman's Club.

There were a lot of new faces that came to the meeting as well as several "old" members who had not been to the meetings in some time.  This meeting drew people from as far as Ventura, San Diego, and Riverside.

2011 WSATI Southern Chapter Officers in attendance were:

President  Dave Petrelli (Workmen's Auto Insurance SIU
Vice President Tim Glover (LASD/TRAP)
Secretary Rob Manning (LASD/TRAP) 
Treasurer Tim Jackson (AAA Southern California SIU)
Sergeant-At-Arms Brian Yori (LAPD/TRAP) 
Associate Director Aristeed Powell (DMV Investigations - Artesia)
Past President John Bartolone(DMV Investigations - Artesia) 
Legal Counsel Richard Knapp (Knapp Law Firm, LLP)

WSATI Southern Chapter Past Presidents in attendance; Bill Robertson (1988), Skip Davidson (1991), Ted Saraf (1992), Dave Dempsey (1998), Gary Labb (2000), Bill Lovold (2001), Lou Koven (2002), Dave Randolph (2003), Jim Williams (2009), and John Bartolone (2010).


Click here to return to WSATI Home Page Menu
Click on the man to return to WSATI Home Page Menu