Logo (c) 2007 - 2014 WSATI Southern Chapter

January 15, 2015 - Lucille's Smokehouse Bar-B-Que - Cerritos

2015 WSATI Southern Chapter President Aristeed Powell (DMV Investigations - Orange) welcomed everyone to the meeting and to one of the most popular WSATI venues, Lucille's Smokehouse Bar-B-Que in Cerritos.  Aristeed then asked Past President Jim Williams (Long Beach Police - Retired) to lead the attendees in the pledge of allegiance.

Due to a pending court case and the need to return to court, the first guest speaker, Los Angeles County Long Beach Superior Court Judge Tomson Ong, came up to speak about the effects of Proposition 47 on the legal system.  Judge Ong gave some tips on filing sections that did not fall under Proposition 47.  As usual, the audience enjoyed Judge Ong's presentation.

The second guest speaker, Los Angeles District State Deputy Attorney General Edward Skelly, gave a presentation on a large conspiracy case involving lien / title washing of numerous vehicles.  The defendants in this case were well known to many of the detectives in the audience.  The case was very complex and ended with the conviction of multiple defendants receiving long prison sentences.

Following the conclusion of DAG Skelly's presentation, Aristeed introduced Dennis Frias, current Western Regional Chapter of IAATI 1st Vice President and Rick Greenwood, WRC IAATI Treasurer.  Aristeed requested DAG Skelly remain.  Dennis then spoke about the WRC IAATI  Executive Board Achievement of Excellence Award and then presented the 2014 Award to DAG Edward Skelly and his team, the California Attorney General Financial Fraud and Special Prosecutions Unit, for their efforts in the case just presented by DAG Skelly.  

Aristeed then introduced Gabe Marquez, Executive Director of the Crime Prevention Program of Southern California.  Gabe then brought up Art Mata, the Crime Prevention Program of Southern California Executive Board President.  Gabe gave a brief background of the John Hootman Memorial Award (formerly known as the "Hooter's Hummer" Award).  Gabe then announced the recipient of the 2014 John Hootman Memorial Award was CHP Inland Division ISU Investigator Karie Mendoza (previous winner 2011 Winner).  Karie received an individual award and also was given the Perpetual Award that will remain with her until the 2015 winner are announced. 

Aristeed then introduced the other Southern Chapter Officers who were in attendance:

Vice President Brian Yori (LAPD/TRAP)
Secretary Heather Roberts ( Liberty Mutual Insurance SIU)
Treasurer Jeff Enfield (LASD/TRAP)
Sergeant-At-Arms Mick O'Neill (Hagerty Insurance SIU)
Associate Director Pat Goodman (NICB/OCATT)
Associate Director Johnny Miyasaki (Long Beach Police)
Associate Director Alan Skobin (LASD/TRAP)
Associate Director Mike Stefanoff (CHP/OCATT)

Legal Counsel Richard Knapp (Knapp & Spurlock, LLP) could not attend the meeting.

Aristeed then had the WSATI Southern Chapter Past Presidents who were in attendance introduce themselves to the attendees:

Skip Davidson (1991), Ted Saraf (1992), Dennis Frias (1997), Gary Labb (2000), Bill Lovold (2001), Lou Koven (2002), Bud Hood (2007), Rick Greenwood (2008), Jim Williams (2009), John Bartolone (2010), and Tim Jackson (2014).

Logo  2007 - 2014 WSATI Southern Chapter

Aristeed then asked everyone in attendance to introduce themselves to the other attendees and share any information or important cases.

Aristeed then announced that the Bar-B-Que buffet luncheon was ready for the attendees.  Some good eating took place after the announcement.

During the luncheon, attendees had the opportunity to survey the raffle prizes that were available to raise money for WSATI funds that assist in putting on future seminars, as well as supporting events such as the San Diego and Orange County ATAC Vehicle Theft Recovery Officer of the Year programs. 

Treasurer Jeff Enfield brought the WSATIWear collection of work shirts, T-shirts, and hats to the meeting so they were available for purchase at the meeting.  The most current WSATI Southern Chapter T-shirts, hats, and work shirts are available from WSATIWear.  For inquiries regarding WSATIWear, please contact Past President Rob Manning.

The raffle was then conducted by Mick O'Neill, Jeff Enfield, Pat Goodman, and Brian Yori.  There were a lot of people walking away with WSATIWear shirts and hats that supposedly had not been worn by Brian Yori.

There were some new faces that came to the meeting, as well as several "old" members who had not been to the meetings in some time.  Thank you all for your attendance.

The meeting was adjourned.  The next meeting will be on March 19, 2015.


Click here to return to WSATI Home Page Menu
Click on the man to return to WSATI Home Page Menu