Logo (c) 2007 - 2012 WSATI Southern Chapter

July 19, 2012 - Palms Park Community Center - Lakewood

2012 WSATI Southern Chapter President Tim Glover (LASD TRAP) welcomed everyone to the meeting and to the venue, the Lakewood Palms Park Community Center.  Tim asked everyone to join him in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Tim requested that the attendees do self-introductions to assist with possible networking.  He also requested that any attendees bring up cases of interest to the group.

WSATI 2000 Past President / Current Webmaster Gary Labb (Santa Ana PD / OCATT - Retired) advised the attendees of the importance of filling in the sign-in forms as they are transferred to the online encrypted roster on the website.  Gary then gave the attendees the password to access the encrypted roster.  Gary said that the roster was a great networking tool.

Tim spoke about the upcoming WSATI Training Seminar taking place in South Lake Tahoe on October 2-4, 2012 that is being hosted by the WSATI Northern Chapter.

Tim then introduced Rick Greenwood, current IAATI 3rd Vice President.  Rick spoke about the upcoming IAATI Training Seminar taking place in Kansas City on August 19-24, 2012.  Rick welcomed the attendees to come to the Seminar.  Rick said that he just found out that the 2013 IAATI Training Seminar would be taking place in Italy.

Tim introduced the guest speaker, LASD TRAP Detective Peter Vandenberg, who gave a presentation on Watercraft Theft and Identification.  Peter gave a presentation that included video, PowerPoint, and "show and tell" items.  It appeared much of what Peter spoke about was "new" information to a lot of the attendees.

Following Peter's presentation, Tim announced that the luncheon was available.  While the training was taking place, the Santa Maria Barbecue Style Lunch was being prepared by Sergeant at Arms Brian Yori (LAPD/TRAP), with the assistance of Associate Director Shawn Robison (Workmen's Auto Insurance SIU), and Past President Dave Petrelli (Workmen's Auto Insurance SIU). Tim invited the attendees to help themselves to the tri-tip, chicken, hot links, salad, potato salad, beans, and dessert to top it all off.  Everyone appeared to enjoy and some took a trip back for seconds....  A big thank you to Brian, Shawn, and Dave for preparing the lunch in the heat of the day.

WSATI Southern Chapter Secretary Tim Jackson (AAA Southern California) then conducted the raffle.  There were a lot of great raffle prizes.  Victor Valdez (AAA Southern California), Aristeed Powell (DMV Investigations), and Tim Glover (LASD/TRAP) assisted Tim with the raffle.  Again, it appeared that those who bought extra raffle tickets did the best.  Some of the raffle prizes included WSATI Southern Chapter shirts.   To see some of the available shirts, please go to WSATIWear.  Please contact Rob Manning at his listed email address for current pricing on the shirts.  It appears that Dave Petrelli and Rick Greenwood bought the most raffle tickets and walked off with the most prizes.  I think the lesson was learned about buying more tickets when they are offered.

Logo (c) 2007 - 2010 WSATI Southern Chapter

Following the raffle, the meeting was adjourned by Tim Glover.  The next meeting will be on Thursday, September 20, 2012.

There were a lot of new faces that came to the meeting as well as several "old" members who had not been to the meetings in some time.  This meeting drew people from as far as Ventura, San Diego, and Riverside, and San Bernardino.

2012 WSATI Southern Chapter Officers in attendance were:

President Tim Glover (LASD/TRAP)
Secretary Tim Jackson (AAA Southern California SIU)
Treasurer Aristeed Powell (DMV Investigations)
Sergeant-At-Arms Brian Yori (LAPD/TRAP)
Associate Director Heather Roberts (Infinity Insurance SIU)
Associate Director Shawn Robison (Workmen's Auto Insurance)
Past President Dave Petrelli (Workmen's Auto Insurance SIU)
Legal Counsel Richard Knapp (Knapp Law Firm, LLP)

Vice President Rob Manning (LASD) could not attend the meeting.

WSATI Southern Chapter Past Presidents in attendance were: Ted Saraf (1992), Dennis Frias (1997), Gary Labb (2000), Bill Lovold (2001), Rick Greenwood (2008), John Bartolone (2010), and Dave Petrelli (2011).


Click here to return to WSATI Home Page Menu
Click on the man to return to WSATI Home Page Menu